And the winners of the ISTO Awards 2022 are…
19 Oct 2022

And the winners of the ISTO Awards 2022 are….

The ISTO World Congress 2022 hosted participants from all over the globe in Ponta Delgada, Azores (Portugal). But not only that! It was also the event where the winners of the ISTO Awards 2022 were announced.

At the beginning of September, the members of the jury for the ISTO Awards 2022 announced the shortlisted candidates for each of the 6 awards to be delivered: National Public Authorities; Regional or Local Public Authorities; Social Tourism; Responsible, Fair and Community-based Tourism; Academy & Research; and non-member of ISTO.

Later on, the Conseil des Sages gathered to choose the winners. They took into consideration the impact of the initiatives shortlisted, their level of innovation and also its capability to increase their reach and even be adapted for other contexts.

The decision was not easy. All the initiatives had incredible value and prove the commitment of members of ISTO and also from non-members to develop tourism centered in people, their needs and expectations.

On Friday 14 October, during the ISTO World Congress 2022, the announcement of the winners of the ISTO Awards were announced. The ceremony counted with the participation of: Isabel Novoa, President of ISTO; Yves Godin, Secretary General of ISTO; Sergio Rodríguez, President of ISTO Americas; Muriel Antoniotti, President of ISTO Europe; and Jean-Marc Mignon, Honorary President of ISTO. As the ISTO Awards 2022 was possible to the support of the Agence Nationale pour les Chèques Vacances (ANCV) and TAP Air Portugal, Dominique Ktorza and João Barbosa represented each organization respectively.

And the winners are…

National Public Authority: Turismo de Portugal

For its Tourism Program to train tourism agents for an increasingly inclusive service, including recommendations for the promotion and improvement of the conditions of physical and informative accessibility.

Regional or Local Public Authority: Honorable Ayuntamiento de San Luis Potosí (Mexico)

For its initiative to become the capital of Tourism for All from a perspective of rights, eliminating the barriers that people face to enjoy leisure and tourism.

Social tourism: VVF (France)

For its “Programme Easy” designed to overcome the double inequality of access to holidays and training of low-income working families.

Responsible, Fair and Community-based Tourism: ATES - Association pour le tourisme équitable et solidaire (France)

For its project “Fair Breizh”, which has the mission of emerging, accompanying, structuring and promoting fair tourism.

Academy & Research: CETT School of Tourism, Hospitality and Gastronomy (Spain)

For its Master's in LGBT Tourism, which aims to train reflective and critical professionals on the LGBTIQ community issues in tourism.

Non-member of ISTO: Global Himalayan Expedition (India)

For leveraging tourism trekking expeditions to bring solar electrification to off-grid communities.


Congratulations to all of the ISTO Awards 2022 winners! Thank you for your inspiring initiatives for the future of Fair and Sustainable Tourism for All.

ISTO also thanks Fundaçao INATEL for the photographic record of the Congress and in particular of the ISTO Awards Ceremony.